Luck is where Preparation meets Opportunity – Saying YES

cherylsleboda2017-headshotsmJust who the heck is this Cheryl Sleboda?  I think I have heard of her before… ha ha! Mostly people recognize me by my hair!

I’m just back from a whirlwind of teaching in Florida, Wisconsin, and California, and I got to tell all of those fine folks the same thing I’m going to tell you.  I didn’t plan to start out doing this quilt teacher thing, it just happened.

In the beginning, it was this blog, which is now 11 years old!

I was also Pokey Bolton’s biggest stalker fan and had done lots and lots of quilt work by the time she knew my name. (The hilarious exchange is recorded for all eternity in an embarrassing blog post you are welcome to search for in the 2008 archive).  I worked on weekly quilts for over a year at that point and would continue my weekly quilt project for another 4 years. I worked so hard each week to hone my craft (so to speak).  So when Pokey would ask me 2 years later to submit to the magazine, I said YES.

Bernina AmbassadorFrom there, I said a series of YESes.  Some were paid.  Many were not.  But I looked at everything as an opportunity.   Magazine? YES.  Submit to quilt competition? YES.  Moderate our online forums for free? YES.  Do an Open Studio slot? YES.  Consider being on QATV? YES.  Demo in our classroom? YES.  Lecture to your home guild? YES.  And so on it goes until I’m here.  I know that I’m incredibly blessed, but I also know how hard I have worked to be able to have my opportunities meet my preparations.   Being a BERNINA Ambassador is one of those opportunites, and OH BOY, did I say YES.

So now, I’m a full time quilt teacher and lecturer, as well as owner of my own company that sells quilting patterns, tools, DVDs, and merchandise. I also consult and mentor others in this wonderful industry because I believe when one of us succeeds, we all succeed.  I still work on my own art.   I have lots of irons in lots of fires, and I’m open to all of the opportunities and I’m prepared.

luck-is-where-preparation-meets-opportunityWhile not all paths end up to the same destination, I hope you reach all of your quilting dreams when your opportunities arise and meet your preparation.

I hope you click around my site and get to know a little about me, and be sure to visit the wonderful other BERNINA Ambassadors on this blog tour.  They are wonderful people who inspire me, and I know you will be inspired too.  And I would like to give a special shout out to Teri Lucas, who organized this whole blog tour, and you should definitely go to her blog first here: https://terificreations.com/ 

 

Monday March 20
Lynn Carson Harris harrislc@gmail.com
Kelly Ashton kelly@kellyquilter.com
Diane Doran info@dianedoran.com
Melody Crust melody@melodycrust.com

Tuesday March 21
Kathy Delaney kathy@kathydelaney.com
Christa Watson christa@christaquilts.com
Mandy Leins mandalei@gmail.com

Wednesday March 22
Sandy Fitzpatrick hissyfitz@earthlink.net
Beth Ferrier beth@applewd.com
Cheryl Sleboda cherylsleboda@gmail.com  <<— YOU ARE HERE!

Thursday March 23
Annie Smith annie@anniesmith.net
Lori Kennedy lckennedy@hotmail.com
Kari Carr kari@newleafstitches.com
Catherine Redford catherine@catherineredford.com

Friday March 24
Joanne Sharpe jzsharpe@yahoo.com
Cherry Guidry cherry@cherryblossomsquilting.com
Jenelle Montilone jenelle@trashn2tees.com

4 thoughts on “Luck is where Preparation meets Opportunity – Saying YES

  1. So glad you said yes and were able to share your story! Sewing is always better with a great machine! I have been a follower of Lori Kennedy and have learned a lot about free motion quilting…so much inspiration on her blog and on this fun hop! Happy quilting 😀

  2. Saying “yes” seems as scary as “what if” thinking. What if leads you down some strange paths. I’m so glad that our paths have crossed.

Comments are closed.